Woman-owned Independent Bookstore | 307 South Barstow | Eau Claire, Wisconsin | Open Tuesday-Saturday from 10am-6pm | Shop in-person or online - Shipping and Local Pickup Available

The Great Transition by Nick Fuller Googins

The Great Transition by Nick Fuller Googins

Regular price $27.99 Sale

From Atria Books:

For fans of Station Eleven and The Last Thing He Told Me , this richly imaginative, immersive, and "profound" (Alice Elliott Dark, author of Fellowship Point) novel is the electrifying story of a family in crisis that unfolds against the backdrop of our near future.

 

Emi Vargas, whose parents helped save the world, is tired of being told how lucky she is to have been born after the climate crisis. But following the public assassination of a dozen climate criminals, Emi's mother, Kristina, disappears as a possible suspect, and Emi's illusions of utopia are shattered. A determined Emi and her father, Larch, journey from their home in Nuuk, Greenland to New York City, now a lightly populated storm-surge outpost built from the ruins of the former metropolis. But they aren't the only ones looking for Kristina.

 

Thirty years earlier, Larch first came to New York with a team of volunteers to save the city from rising waters and torrential storms. Kristina was on the frontlines of a different battle, fighting massive wildfires that ravaged the western United States. They became part of a movement that changed the world---The Great Transition--forging a new society and finding each other in process.

 

Alternating between Emi's desperate search for her mother and a meticulously rendered, heart-stopping account of her parents' experiences during The Great Transition, this novel beautifully shows how our actions today determine our fate tomorrow. A triumphant debut, The Great Transition is a breathtaking rendering of our near future, told through the story of one family trying to protect each other and the place we all call home.